An Interview With Joseph Stalin in Hell

A fictional visit to the Nether World

J.C. Scull
9 min readAug 22, 2023
They tyrant Josef Stalin | Wikimedia

At the Gates of Hell

What brings you here?” Asked the sentry standing guard at the iron gates. A bright red letter “H” adorned the entrance immediately behind him. As he stood in perfect military form with a large staff in hand, his red-flaming eyes seemed to be looking right through me.

“I am here to visit Joseph Stalin.”

“Do you have a valid PDV?” The sentinel asked.

“A what?” I replied.

“A Purgatory Dweller’s Visa.” He answered in a thunderous voice.

“Oh, yes. I have one of those. Here.” I said as I handed him my brand new intra-celestial passport which I had opened to the visa section. “See, right there. It is valid for a full millennia.”

“Permission granted.” Said the sentinel. “Be informed residents roam through the sphere at will. You must summon the individuals you seek through your thoughts. They will beckon your call if they desire.”

Upon putting my passport back in my pocked, the gates of this netherworld opened. As I entered through a cobblestone road, a warm humid fog hung in the air. Surprisingly, the stench of burning cinder was absent. The cries of tortured souls screaming from the…

--

--

J.C. Scull

I write about culture, international trade, and history. Taught international business at two universities in Beijing, China.